5 Mistakes I made as a Freshman in College

5 Mistakes

I just got back home from a Calculus final 😦 Well, you can guess it didn’t go so well. This semester I honestly made a LOT of mistakes that now, put me in a terrible position, where I had 3 to 4 exams per week, with no brakes. I completely regret my decisions: There is no worse feeling than feeling disappointed in yourself for not giving your best.

I didn’t start my freshman year in glory, not by all means, but I do think it is a normal thing. I was definitely not prepared for the difficulty of college, but I have learned a lesson that I will use to improve my future.

Here are the 5 mistakes I made this semester:

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Cheguei agora para casa vinda de um exame de Cálculo Financeiro 😦  Bem, podem imaginar que não correu assim tão bem. Este primeiro semestre cometi IMENSOS erros, que agora que colocam numa péssima posição, onde tenho 3 a 4 exames por semana, sem pausas. Arrependo-me por completo das minhas decisões: não há pior sensação do que sentirmo-nos desapontados connosco próprios por não termos dado o nosso melhor.
Eu não comecei o meu primeiro semestre em glória, nem pouco mais ou menos, mas penso que é normal, acontece a todos mais tarde ou mais cedo. Eu não estava de todo preparada para o grau de dificuldade da faculdade, mas aprendi uma lição que aplicarei no meu futuro.

Aqui estão os 5 erros que cometi neste primeiro semestre:

 

Didn’t take proper notes! | Não tirei apontamentos!

 type-away-numero-dos

Taking notes is the key to college success. Whether it’s in a notebook or on your laptop, notes are extremely important, trust me. None of my teachers allowed me to bring a laptop to class, so I took them on notebooks. I have a notebook for all my six subjects, but I’d often forget it at home so I used random sheets of paper, which lead to losing most of them.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Tirar apontamentos é essencial para obter sucesso no percurso académico. Quer seja num portátil ou num caderno, tirar apontamentos é extremamente importante. Nenhum dos meus professores permite levar portáteis para as aulas, portanto eu tirava apontamentos num caderno. Eu tenho um caderno para as seis cadeiras, mas esquecia-me sempre dele em casa, o que levou a usar sempre folhas soltas que eu acabava sempre por perder.

 

Skipped Classes | Faltei a Aulas

bag-and-hands

I cannot emphasize this enough, DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT SKIP CLASSES. Next class you attend, you will feel left off, zoned out and unless you asked someone for the notes from that class, you’ll have no clue what the teacher is talking about.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Nunca é demais dizer, NÃO, repito, NÃO FALTEM ÁS AULAS. A próxima a que forem irão ficar muito confusos, sem perceber nada, e caso não peçam os apontamentos a alguém da aula anterior, não vão perceber nada daquilo que o professor esteja a falar.

 

 

Didn’t Study Hard Enought | Não Estudei o Suficiente

photo-1443188631128-a1b6b1c5c207

As an high schooler, I usually had great grades without trying too hard. Well, as a college student, forget it. The level of difficulty triplicates and I didn’t keep up with it. Revise your notes everyday when you get home ’cause it will help you on the long way.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Como aluna de ensino secundário, sempre tive boas notas sem ter de me esforçar muito. Como aluna de ensino universitário, esqueçam lá isso. O nível de dificuldade triplica, e eu não soube dar vazão. Revejam os apontamentos todos os dias quando chegam a casa, porque vos irá ajudar a longo prazo.

Wasn’t Organized | Não me Organizei

photo-1447914178647-198e7e4a70b5.jpg

I am not a very organized person overall, my room’s a mess, my life’s a mess, and so is everything school related. As I mentioned before, by losing all my notes, I’d often forget about writing down due dates for essays or exams, or even homework which resulted i n chaos, so It’s always useful to walk around with a planner. I have recently been using Google Calender and it has been a life saver.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Eu não costumo ser uma pessoa muito organizada: o meu quarto está uma confusão, a minha vida também uma confusão, assim como tudo relacionado com a escola. Como já mencionei, por perder a maioria dos apontamentos, era regular esquecer-me de datas de apresentações, testes e até trabalhos de casa, o que resultou num verdadeiro caos. Recomendo plenamente apontarem tudo numa agenda, eu tenho usado a app Google Calender e tem sido a minha salvação.

Homework = None | Trabalhos de Casa = Nenhuns

photo-1422207175003-e5b7d45ceb7b

Since I skipped class so much, most of the times I had no idea we had homework. And since I skipped doing homework, most of the times I knew I had them, I would always have a lot of questions during class and due to my shy personality I’d never ask anyone to clarify them. It is very important to do your homework due to that exact fact.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Visto que faltei bastante às aulas, a maioria das vezes eu não fazia ideia que tinha trabalhos de casa. E visto que evitava fazê-los quando sabia que os tinha para fazer, quando chegava ás aulas tinha sempre imensas dúvidas, adicionando o factor da minha personalidade tímida, nunca chegava a tirar essas dúvidas. É muito importante fazerem os trabalhos de casa que o professor da cadeira vos pedir.

As you can tell, this semester wasn’t really the best, it was exactly the opposite. I can only learn from my mistakes and work hard to achieve my goals in the future. I hope this post helps some of you, and please learn from my mistakes, cause I certainly have. Hope you liked the post xx
Como já devem ter percebido, este semestre não correu exatamente às mil maravilhas, foi precisamente o contrário. Agora apenas posso aprender com os meus erros e trabalhar mais para atingir os meus objetivos no futuro. Espero que este post vos tenha ajudado, aprendam com os meus erros porque eu de certeza que aprendi xx

All pictures from Unsplash

Leave a Reply

